Isolation Performance Competition

02 June 2020

Isolation Performance Competition

Congratulations to all who submitted entries to the first online Isolation Performance Competition! We were overwhelmed and so very impressed with both the number and quality of the entries. 

There was a great variety of both styles and instruments across all the forms. We engaged two external adjudicators – they both had an extremely difficult time deciding on whom to award the prizes. They requested we allocate quite a number of Highly Commended Certificates as they were so impressed with the entries. The winners are listed below, click each video to hear the performances.

Junior Section (Forms I, II and III)

Milo Abrahams (III), BED, Bozza Recit, Sicilienne et Rondo – Bassoon

Ben Andronos (II), TD, Brahms Intermezzo Op. 118 No.2 – Piano

Sean Weatherley (III), NPV, Bach Third Movement Concerto in E major BWV1042 – Violin

John Wu (III), BDD, Beethoven Sonata No.3 in A major First Movement 2 – Violoncello

Senior Section (Forms IV, V and VI)

Daniel Lin (V), RDP, Bach-Kodály Chromatic Fantasy – Viola

Jun McPhee (V), LMT, Bela Kovacs Hommage a Manuel de Falla – Clarinet

Jack Morton (V), RDP, Boston Hitch a Ride – Electric Guitar

Max Philips (V), HFB, Bernstein The Man With the Golden Arm – Euphonium


Highly Commended


Ramakrishna Balachandran (II) – Vocal
James Brew (II) – Vocal
Anton Bromwich (III) – Piano
Felix Chan (I) – Violin
Ethan Chang (II) – Violoncello
Oscar Chen (I) – Violoncello
Jeremiah Chow (I) – Piano
William Chung (I) – Violoncello
Benedict da Cruz (III) – Violin
Leo Huang (I) – Trombone
James Ireland (III) – Electric Guitar
Darren Jeng (I) – Violin
Felix Lin (II) – Violoncello
Oscar Lobb-McEwan (I) – French horn
Julian Marsden (I) – Tuba
Cohen Parker-Burton (I) – Acoustic Guitar
Elliot Razavi (I) – Vocal
Charles Slack (I) – Trombone
Erik Steemers (III) – Bassoon
Beau Thompson (I) – Piano and Trumpet
Jamie Wallace (I) – Violoncello
Theo Walsh (I) – Drum Kit
Jerry Yu (I) – Piano
Ivan Zhang (II) – Clarinet
Tawrence Zheng (II) – Piano


Lachlan Blair (V) – Violoncello
Ashton Ding (IV) – Piano
Hugo Hui (V) – Violin
John Seo (VI) – Viola
Jules Vahl (V) – Violin
Marcus Wong (V) – Piano
Aidan Woo (V) – Bass Guitar